Guest Blogger: Savannah Chase

The wonderful and terribly sweet Savannah Chase shares her words with us today:

Savannah's Covers

Inspire Me Any Way You Want

I want to start off by saying a huge thank you to C.Margery Kempe for letting me be her guest blogger today. It is my pleasure to be here.

The one question that I get asked a lot as an author has to be Where do you get your ideas from?

Oh boy….the only thing I can tell you is from everywhere.. I’ve always had a wild imagination that has given me stories and ideas. I don’t have one thing or another that influences me when it comes to my books. Things that happen around me play a huge part. I will say one thing….Music plays a huge part in the stories I create. I get inspired by the different genre’s I listen to. There is something about them that get the muse going.

I’ve said this before, my mind never takes a break when it comes to new ideas. Even when I go to bed at night my mind is racing with ideas and things that interest me. Many times I find myself scratching down notes in the dark on the notepad that lays on the table next to me. You can only imagine how bad my writing sometimes looks since I try to jot this stuff down in the dark before I forget it.

Sometimes all I need is a title for a particular story and the words just flow through my fingers as I type. Other times I need a kick to get me started but it doesn’t take much.

When a new book idea comes to me it is pretty much in the form of a mini movie…All I have to do is get it all down on paper or most the time my computer…

I hope that my imagination never stops working overtime since it has been amazing to me so far. This gift has given me the chance to bring to life so many different characters and tales of passion to life. Ones that readers have fallen in love with and cheered for.

With the way my muse is working you can bet there will be many many more books coming soon.

Savannah
Author Of Romance & Erotica
Join her Yahoo group!

Thank you, Savannah! It was a delight to have you here.

26 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Savannah Chase

  1. Pingback: Savannah Chase ยป Inspire Me Any Way You Want - Guest blogging at C.Margery Kempe’s blog..

  2. Hi Savannah! You are one lucky writer. I know several who’d sell their souls to have your busy Muse. Keep up the good work, and good luck with your writing!

    • Pat, thank you so much…It doesn’t always do what I’d like it but most of the time it is good to me. As long as I write and bring books to life that is what makes me happy.

  3. Savannah, you lucky dog, you! I wish my stories came to me like movies. For me, writing a story is kind of like putting together a jigsaw puzzle in the dark when the pieces have been scattered all over the room. It’s part blind faith that I’ll pull it off against the odds and part determination. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The story is always there. I just have to find it.
    I love how very different writers are! And with great variety as a result! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lexi, thank you so much…When I write music it comes to me as a mini movie as well. You put the puzzle back very well since your work is amazing…

      I know what you mean, it is always interesting to find out how authors bring their work to life, what little things they do to get the story down.

    • Hi Leah, thank you so much for coming by….I think the muse finds it funny that no matter what we will not let the idea go and we will get up and write it down

  4. Savannah, I get the cerebral movies, too … often they are among my last thoughts as I drift to sleep and my first thoughts when I wake. They can make for great entertainment, but they can also be very, very distracting….

    As my favorite defective detective says, “It’s a gift … and a curse.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Lisa, for me they sometimes happen in the weirdest places…and I mean weird….

      Sometimes the mini movies will keep going on for days until I give in…Sometimes it is just flashes of a scene…I know when the mini movie hits I better have a pen in my hand…This is why I have a notebook in every room of the house….

  5. I enjoyed reading about your writing process. Having an active imagination is crucial for writers, but there are times when the muse simply disappears. I feed mine frozen Jr. Mints. I love how music inspires you – some Led Zeppelin songs help fuel me when writing more “sensual” scenes!

  6. Music has always been a huge part…I write music as well…In one of my next books I’m creating a whole set of songs just for the story and the character…

    Ohh when I want sensual I always put on the soundtrack and score from Red Shoe Diaries and Two Moon Junction….Big RSD fan….

  7. I enjoyed reading about your ideas and muse and the music. I do find certain songs/lyrics spark ideas for me too – of course I’m usually driving around at the time don’t write them down, which is okay I have more ideas than time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I get ideas in traffic as well…I end up calling my voice mail and just leaving a message with the idea…this way I won’t forget it…if possible and I can I write it down….

  8. Having a notebook always on hand (and even scribbling in the dark) is such a great idea! I need to get more disciplined about that. All too often, I let the muses nag at me for far too long … or even worse, I’ll let a good idea slip away because I fail to write it down. It’s only common sense to write it down, and yet most of the time I don’t. Thanks so much for sharing (and reminding me how simple it SHOULD be)!

  9. Savannah, like you music plays a big part in stories, especially jazz. I can hear a song and a scene with a character rolls like a movie in my mind. I have always had a vivid imagination. I can watch the news or see a movie and ask myself “what if” and can come up with a basic plot for a story. I think half the fun of writing is letting your imagination run free and coming up with ideas.

  10. I’m running VERY late, but I wanted to stop in. I love how you describe the story idea as a mini movie. It’s a great description that I can certainly relate to.
    Keep up those wonderful movies. We’re all enjoying them!
    Angie

Leave a Reply

