Drink the Chastity Flame

You know I’ve got a sexy spy novel called Chastity Flame; did you know there’s a drink named after her, too? Because it’s Friday, I think some of you might be thinking about happy hour, so here’s a little drink you can try out. It first appeared in the Noble Romance Christmas Bonus Recipe Book. I was hoping I’d have the sequel to the novel done this summer, but moving to Ireland has taken up far too much of my time! Never fear, it’s at the top of my list once I get settled in Galway.

 “Never despise a drink because it is easy to make.”
~ Kingsley Amis, Everyday Drinking

When I created Chastity Flame, my sexy government agent, of course I had Ian Fleming’s Bond in the back of my head. While working on the sequel, Lush Situation (which draws its name from Richard Hamilton’s piece, of course), I decided that Chas needed a drink just as memorable as Bond’s “shaken not stirred” martini. Et voilá! I give you

The Chastity Flame:

2 measures gin (I recommend Boodle’s or Tanqueray Rangpur)
1 measure vodka ( I recommend Zubrowka, Reyka or Stoli)
A generous dash of bitters (is there any but Angostura that will do?)
Lime garnish

Pour all the ingredients into a shaker with plenty of ice, but don’t dawdle or it will get dilluted. Strain the chilled contents into martini glass — or a tumbler if you’re a heathen. Garnish with a lime slice and a shot of lime juice if you like that sort of thing (I do). It should be the color of Chastity’s amber eyes and be rather lethal, but then again, so is its inspiration. A perfect accompaniment for a stimulating book.

4 thoughts on “Drink the Chastity Flame

  1. Whew! That’s some stout drinking there!
    I’m going to have to pick this one up just so I can learn about the inspiration behind it 🙂
    (And, although I’m not a big vodka fan, I’ll try just about anything once.)
    J.S.

    • LOL, I like your attitude! Yes, by all means dive into Chas’ adventures. I promise it’s a real thrill ride with a lot of good laughs along the way, too.

      • Can’t wait! And did I happen to mention how jealous I am of you now that you’re across the pond? 😉 How far is Galway from Malin Head?

Leave a Reply

