It’s My Life

Today was a turning point. I thought I had turned that corner before, but today it was real. I gave up an academic publication. I have eschewed opportunities before, as I’m always pressed for time — I have a bad habit of taking on too much at once. It’s a legacy of my time in Texas when I wrote and published desperately to get a new job.

Which I did 🙂

This was different; I had actually agreed to do this. Madness as I was already overloaded with duties, but I am always drawn in by a topic I adore (classic British comedy in this case). But I asked to be released from the contract, hoping that the collection had filled sufficiently to make my absence negligible. Fortunately, that proved to be the case, but the editor’s scorn was obvious. How could I turn down a publication with a prestigious academic house like this?

Actually it was very easy: life is short. I have stories to tell. They may not “count” for anything, but this is my life. This is what I need to do. I’m old enough not to care about impressing anyone anymore. I just want to write stories and find my readers (a big enough challenge that!). I know my colleagues will sneer, but you know what? I have absolutely no regrets.

Leave a Reply

