Earning Emotions

Lady Smut

by C. Margery Kempe

The notion of a universality of human experience is a confidence trick and the notion of a universality of female experience is a clever confidence trick.

~ Angela Carter

I don’t like shoes.

I thought I should get that right up front at the start. I grew up running around barefoot the better part of the year and no one in my family wore shoes indoors. They’re just not comfortable. You’ll understand why My Side of the Mountain hit a chord immediately with me: I’m a real wild child.

But judging by popular culture that makes me a freak: oh, didn’t you know? Women are just CRAZEE about shoes. That meme makes the rounds over and over, the one about how The Wizard of Oz is the ultimate chick flick, two witches fighting over shoes, ha ha! I recall my keen disappointment when one of my…

View original post 400 more words

Leave a Reply

